The Broncos are born

Original AFL owners in 1959
Representatives of the American Football League pose in a football-like formation in New York City, Oct. 28, 1959. Posing in the front row from left are, Bob Howsam; Max Winter, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.; Lamar Hunt, Dallas, the League’s founder; and K.S. “Bud” Adams. Jr., Houston. In the back row from left are, Barron Hilton, Los Angeles; Ralph C. Wilson Jr., Buffalo; and Harry Wismer, New York. (AP Photo)

The first American Football League organizational meeting is held in Chicago. Denver, with Bob Howsam as its principal owner, is named as a charter member along with New York, Dallas, Los Angeles, Minneapolis and Houston.